Student Leadership

From May 25th through July 5th Mount Vernon welcomed the fifth class of Mount Vernon Leadership Fellows. The fourteen rising college juniors attend The University of Alabama, American University, University of Chicago, Drury University, Georgetown University, Middlebury College, University of Mississippi, UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Oklahoma, Princeton University, St. Olaf College, Union College, and Yale University.

During the annual program, the students learned about the life and leadership of George Washington; explored the intricacies of the estate with the staff of collections, horticulture, archaeology, interpretation, and the library; met with national leaders; and completed capstone presentations on their personal, civic engagement project.

Through their studies and guest lecturers, the students gained a deeper understanding of strategic leadership, tactical leadership and institution building, strategic execution, and character-based decision making, the very key skills that made George Washington a successful leader. The students applied these new lessons to their capstone project and discovered how they can better their communities through the teachings of George Washington.

Guest speakers included David Rubenstein, Senators Tim Kaine and John Warner, Governor Dirk Kempthorne, Congresswoman Virginia Foxx, General John Kelly, National Museum of American History Director Dr. Anthea Hartig, Librarian of Congress Dr. Carla Hayden, National Museum of the American Indian Director Kevin Gover, Kennedy Center Artistic Vice President Robert Van Leer, CNN White House Correspondent Abby Phillip, and C-SPAN Founder Brian Lamb.

Fourteen Mount Vernon staff members served as mentors for the fellows to help guide their capstone work and provide additional support and education about their work at Mount Vernon. Special thanks to Joe Bondi, Matt Briney, Carolina Camargo, Peter Cressy, Susan Doyle, Adam Erby, Phil Manno, Jessie MacLeod, Dean Norton, Rob Shenk, Joe Sliger, Joe Stoltz, Amy Turcotte, and Allison Wickens for their mentorship.

This program is generously sponsored by David M. Rubenstein.